One thing of fall and winter I
Have not the mind to reconcile
It happens more so than does not
And finds me lost in dreary thought

’Tis when a fog of width and height
Shrouds the heavens from my sight
An endless blanket, thick and grey
Filters every brilliant ray

I could bear it and would not mourn
If these clouds had shape or form
To give some daily bread for eyes
And make a canvas of the skies

Even the winds of season’s change
Oft fail to blow these clouds away
And though the rain from them does fall
From course, they do not stray at all

But if above the mist I rise
Would see the blue and sun-lit skies
I know they’re shining there for me
I thus believe though cannot see

Under this hovering depth of grey
It is my lot and I will stay
But this I know, ’twill soon give way
to Light of everlasting day

by Kara Chase